• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

what do new rabbit owners need to know?

pooks

Warren Scout
Hi everyone,

I'm a vet nurse and looking to hold a rabbit awareness evening (in conjunction with my practice) for our clients and non-clients.

I have been running rabbit clinics for a number of years so have a good idea of what I want to talk about but I was hoping to get some feedback from all of you.

As a new rabbit owner, what would you like to have been told? What have you found out over the months/years of rabbit ownership that you would have wanted to know from the start?

My main topic is going to be diet as many of the health problems we see in practice are dietry related but I would like to include plenty of other information and little nuggets of wisdom!

Many Thanks

Diet, husbandry, handling, vaccination, company and I think probably just how intelligent rabbits are and why a hutch isn't enough etc I do something similar at my practice and people seem to find it really helpful :) good luck with it :)

how incredibly easy to litter train and how it makes keeping bun clean so much better.
rabbits are fairly active very early morning and so houseing really does need to be bigger then one thinks as they are not just using it to sleep in,

Hi everyone,

I'm a vet nurse and looking to hold a rabbit awareness evening (in conjunction with my practice) for our clients and non-clients.

I have been running rabbit clinics for a number of years so have a good idea of what I want to talk about but I was hoping to get some feedback from all of you.

As a new rabbit owner, what would you like to have been told? What have you found out over the months/years of rabbit ownership that you would have wanted to know from the start?