• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Newbie - suggestions for hutch improvements wanted

Jennifer B

Young Bun
Hi all, I'm a newbie hoping to adopt a pair of rescue bunnies as soon as I have their accommodation up to scratch.

I've bought a chicken coop from ebay (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/230880597427?_trksid=p5197.c0.m619). It came with an additional 2 metre run and was the biggest combination I could find on my budget. I've checked that my local rescue is happy with it, and they are subject to a bit of extra weather proofing.

It arrived the other day and my lovely hubby put it up for me.
8380606428_37262650b3_m.jpg
8379528399_4436c0e8b7_m.jpg

The first thing is - of course it looks much smaller than I imagined. I'm just not very good at translating dimensions to what it actually will look like. My husband thinks it looks huge - but I'm thinking poor wee bunnies! I was always intending to get a portable run so that they could get time on the grass, but I'm now already dreaming of extensions.

Also, the instructions show that the extra run can be built on to the front of the main section but when he built it my husband says it's not so simple. The roof sections wont line up flush and the mechanism for opening and shutting off access to the ramp is in the way.
8380609300_d301d2ed0a_m.jpg

So we're considering how best to do the join. Husband says with a bid of fudging he can do it, but I'm wondering if it would be more fun for the bunnies to put in a tunnel (like roundabout) or build a mesh tunnel or something.