• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Anyone have a chicken coop type thing for their buns?

People do use these for bunnies and they can work well, however they do usually need a bit of adaptation because they are quite open for a hutch and only have a very small enclosed part. I rehomed a bunny to a home where they had a coop as a hutch, but they had used board to make a floor and walls on three sides so it is much more like a hutch. They had also attached a permanent run to it, as on its own it wasn't really big enough.

To be honest, if I was buying a new hutch I would go for an actual hutch/playhouse/shed rather than a coop, because they require a bit less adaptation, but that's because I'm not very good a diy :lol:

thanks for that, I'm not very good at DIY either so will have to think about this somemore I think! The coops looked like a good option as we wanted something that goes longways like this rather than jutting out onto the patio like the usual run/hutch options if you see what I mean......................

Yes, the hutch/run combos can stick out quite a long way. Have you seen this company before: http://www.runaround.co.uk? They sell tunnels and connectors which can be used to connect up a hutch to a run. So you could have a normal 6ft hutch on the patio, and the run further down the garden connected with the tunnel. That way you don't have to have it all in the same place.

I have some of these tunnels, and I have to say they are brilliant. As well as making the set-up more flexible in terms of where things need to be, the bunnies really enjoy going through the tunnels.