• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Finding a partner?

I have a neutered female bunny that recently lost her male companion. I'd like to find her a new friend preferably a neutered male, but am wondering what the implications will be be if i introduce one that isn't neutered. Also although the rabbits have their own hutches they do share their run with guinea pigs, so am not sure if that would be a good idea as I've no experience of an entire bunny and how demanding they get?

you can always adopt from a rescue,, that way the bunny will already be neutered ;) also some rescues help with bonding :wave:

Yes it will be a rescue bunny whatever, but I have been offered one that is in foster at the moment and he hasn't been done.
I think I know the answer already really but I think I needed it confirmed so that I can justify not taking on the one I've already been offered if that makes sense!

I would wait for a neutered bun, much easier to bond them. I wouldn't let the buns and guinea pigs share a run, the buns could hurt the pigs xx

I got a neutered rescue female for my male lop for a companion and they are getting on famously. I was also recommended someone to bond them for me.

Good luck!!!

Fee xx

Unneutered he'll hump the female and if he annoys her enough she'll bite back and there can be nasty injuries. I wouldn't generally advise rabbits and guinea pigs sharing, but definitely not unneutered as he may well try humping them too!

If you can get pre-neutered that's much better as the hormones will have had time to go down too.

Also, please seek advice before putting a new rabbit with your existing one, if you don't already know.