• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

How do you know a good bale of hay??

LainiT

Warren Scout
As above really...I've always bought bagged shop hay, various types and prices and quite often struggle to get Ellie to eat enough.

A work friend has horses and she's brought me 2 different 'slices' from her farmer's bales to try my buns with, but is hay hay?? Is it just a case of seeing what they like? Are there things in certain types of hay that rabbits can't eat? Sorry to be a bit thick but I'm a bale novice :oops: !

Any advice muchly appreciated Thankyou :D

I've only ever had one duff bale, it had so much vetch in it was more vetch than hay. It should smell nice, sweet but not musty. Should be golden or green and not brown and preferably with long strands (most pet shop hay is chopped to get it in the bags!). My rabbits prefer it thick rather than thin strands but that's personal bunny preference!

thankyou! I don't get how you can buy a mahooooooosive bale for £2.50 and yet a tiny carrier bag in a shop is a fiver! I'm of the opinion if it sounds too good to be true it normally is...thats why I'm questioning it...so thanks!

thankyou! I don't get how you can buy a mahooooooosive bale for £2.50 and yet a tiny carrier bag in a shop is a fiver! I'm of the opinion if it sounds too good to be true it normally is...thats why I'm questioning it...so thanks!

In this case it is true! Baled hay is brilliant. I worked out that the same amount in pet shop hay from where I was buying before would costs me about £100! And they much, much prefer it. The only downside is storing it as if you're in a flat or small house it can be a bit difficult.