• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

My Doe is pregnant! i need to transport her while i visist family!

z.arthur

New Kit
My Polish doe is around three weeks pregnant, she has built her nest inside the cage and has left it at that so far.

I am going to Houston to visit my family for the weekend, and this will be for 2 days. The problem im having is that i cant move her cage, its large and cant fit inside of my car. So i was going to put her and the buck i own in seperate transport cages. But it is a 3 hour drive and i was wooried the stress of the ride might hurt the babies, or worse, she has the kits when im in houston and 3 hours from her nesting box!

Im new to rabbits only having mine for around a month and a half. I love them to death and want to do whats best for them and the kits. So id apprecitate some experienced advice. Thank you!:)

Hi and welcome to the forum.

It would be worth while reading this and this.

It's not right or fair to move her now. It would be highly distressing and traumatic for her. She needs to stay where she is until after either she is separated from the babies (any which lived), or a week or so after kindling if all the babies die.

You can't move her now, for her own sake. You need to try and find another way to ensure she is looked after. Is there anyone who can pop in and check on her, feed her, water her, top up her hay, etc, while you're away?

Also, I'm presuming she doesn't live with the boy, is that correct?