• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Aquiring rabbits

Athena

Young Bun
Can you talk me through the options please?

Rescues im assuming (if its a good rescue, i would research) rabbits would be fully vaccinated, neutered and possibly bonded

Small ads: (i mean free to good home types id never pay for animals on these sites) im assuming the buns will generally be unhandled unvaccinated not neutered in most cases. Ive never had rabbits before but i have lots of experience with other animals and enjoy taking on 'lost causes' and turning them into happy animals. Are there any other downsides of rehoming through gumtree etc? There seem to be so many rabbits on there surplus to requirements who i can only guess get ignored :(

Good rescues do indeed do all of that, and it's a lot cheaper. I paid £45 for my girly bun and she was neutered and vaccinated (she's cost me a bomb since then but thats another story... :lol: ). They will also have pairs or be able to bond for you, and you also have their backup in case the worst happens and you can't keep them anymore. You're also freeing up spaces for other bunnies to go in to.

Free adds... You have no idea if they're telling the truth. Females could be pregnant, missexing is common, had no health check so they could come to you seriously ill/needing dental work. No neutering (even if they say they had it done, they could have lied), no vaccs, and no idea if you're supporting a back yard breeder without knowing about it.

We have done P@H adoption, adopted through our vets (homless baby buns) and we are about to adopt our first two from BARC rescue :)

Seeing all the free ads is what has made me decide i want rabbits, im a rat peron naturally but often they are all lumped in the same category.