• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Digging and other stuff

eawilson

New Kit
I've noticed my bunny Hamish pawing furiously in the sofa like he's wanting to dig or burrow and wondering if I can give him a tray of earth or sand. Is that something you'd recommend? Apart from the mess (he's a house rabbit - we don't have a safe garden) which I don't care about as I just want him to be a happy bunny is there any reason why I shouldn't do this? Sand might get in his eyes? Earth better?

Also, and I am sorry if this is a silly question but I am relatively new to rabbits, Hamish will come up to me and put his nose in front of mine and I rub his nose with my nose (gently) - is this ok or would he see this as in any way threatening or not nice?

Last thing! Hamish needs to eat more hay as he's too fond of his pellets. Thing is, he's had two episodes of gut stasis so I am really worried if I take away his pellets he won't eat at all. He needs the hay to help with his teeth though as he's had problems. Any tips on how to eat more hay - he already gets three different types. While I'm with him and encourage the hay I don't worry as he eats it but when I'm not home I worry if I don't leave pellets he won't eat at all and he'll get stasis again. Am I worrying too much and should I just leave him with the hay and see how it goes? I just don't know if I can go through the worry of stasis again but if his teeth play up again hell start not eating again anyway...

Thanks for any help. I probably sound a bit neurotic but maybe I am!