• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Two brothers 8 weeks old, advice please :)

Kit.pike

Young Bun
Hi,

I was just wanting some advice please.
I have bought 2 male rabbits today, 2 brothers from the same litter and they are both very close.
They are in the same hutch at the moment as I thought it would be easier for them to settle in if kept together.
When should I seperate them as I do not want them to fight etc?

I will be getting them neutered as soon as I can, the vet I spoke to said they do it at around 4momths is the correct?

Do I buy a new hutch and keep them next to each other and seperate them now or do I leave them for a while?

Any help would be great.

Thanks
Kirsty

I'm no expert, but I would say they would be fine left together seeing as they are from the same litter. I think they would get lonely on their own.

I'm no expert, but I would say they would be fine left together seeing as they are from the same litter. I think they would get lonely on their own.

that they are from the same litter makes no difference at all to whether they fight or not at a later date. The real difference will be neutering (at about 3 months or as soon as the testicles drop and the vet feels they are ready), and their characters.

I would keep them together until you see any signs of friction (of if not friction until 4 months)- at that point put them in cages next to each other and book a castration for them. Leave them in cages next to each other for another couple of weeks (I am afraid that I really do not adhere to the 6 weeks that some people on here do for - and am pre[ared to explain why if people query it -) then re-introduce on neutral ground.