• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

The dreaded stasis, any advice? u/d he's gone :(((

LainiT

Warren Scout
:cry: Took Tufty to the vets this morning, he refused his morning piece of apple peel and was looking very sorry for himself. Vet thought he was tender round his tummy area so is treating him for stasis...I have no experience of this I just know its something every bunny owner dreads.

I know he pood overnight cos he doesn't tend to eat all of his droppings so there were his usual tell tale few around. Its so hard when there are 2 living together though.

He had 3 injections at the vets... Emeprid, Marbocyl & Loxicom. he told me what they were for but was kind of in a daze so apart form the gut stimulant and the pain killer I'm not sure. Anyhow the vet also said to give my little fella 5 ml of pineapple juice 4x a day to flush out any blockage. I've only managed 2 so far. but will do a 3rd before bed. I've removed all dried food and only providing hay for them...anything else I can do? Apart from looking for poo what do I do. He's really quiet and looking so fed up. He's just had a drink but not seen him eating anything, but I've been working (typical...I work one day a week! :roll: and he gets poorly today!!). Should I try and tempt him or stick to the vets advice and only give hay? I have an appointment in the morning too.

Sad and scared...come on Tufty. :cry:

Last edited:
Hello there