• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Litter training?

Baildon bears

Warren Scout
I am a bit new to this Rabbit lark and am on a fast learning curve, Sootie and Molly are 11 weeks old and I want to get them litter trained, at the moment they seem to be weeing and pooing in thier sleeping space which is not ideal, and also pooing everywhere else, I am having to clean them out quite often, could any one give me any tips and advice, being a Childminder I have potty trained lots of children but not Rabbits ;) also this may be a silly question but the round poos they do, do they eat them, just wondered if I may be cleaning them out to often :/. Thanks in advance, expect lots more questions coming lol.

I always found putting hay in the litter tray encouraged them to use it. Also, litter training becomes much easier after neutering :)

From one Childminder to another :wave:

Rabbits usually have a space where they prefer to toilet, some people suggest to put the potty where they seem to be going the most. But if you then move this, it confuses the bunnies and they will just continue to go in the same spot

if you stick the potty where YOU want it, and stick to this place you should have no problems!

Does tend to be easier than bucks to potty train :thumb:

rabbits will toilet where its convenient so, if you put treats in/near the potty it will encourage the bunnies to sit in it, and then you're half way there