• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Changing a new rabbit's diet

Hello!

I am soon to get a rabbit and wanted some advice.

I have some experience of looking after rabbits, but this will be the first time I get to call one ‘mine’ (and my boyfriend’s), so this is the first time I’ll be in charge of actually changing a rabbit’s lifestyle* - I’m sure I’ll have many questions along the way!

The rabbit is currently fed mostly pellets, some hay, and very occasion greens, and this obviously needs to be changed. I’ve read that any change in food should be done gradually, but wasn’t sure if this included increasing hay amounts?

I could, and probably will, borrow a certain amount of the pellets that he’s currently used to so that I can change him over gradually to my brand of choice (not sure exactly what he currently eats, it might not need to change if the fibre levels are right), and I’m fine with doing that. But does the same need to be done with hay? I know rabbits are sensitive to these things, so I want to be careful, especially as he’ll probably already be stressed by the change of location and suddenly being around people far more often.

As for decreasing pellets while increasing hay – does this have to be done gradually too? I obviously want to encourage him to eat more hay, but don’t want to starve him by taking away 90% of the pellets immediately in case he’s going to take a while to adjust to unlimited quantities of hay… or is this a good thing because it will force him to get used to hay?

I just want to know what's best so I can get him the best quality of life as soon as possible.

In summary:

Do pellets need to be changed from one type to another gradually?
Does hay need to be changed from one type to another gradually?