• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Breeding Help

Hello all,

I am totally new to breeding but I plan to breed for time in next few weeks. As you can imagine I have done lots of research on the matter didn't want to go in blind but there is one question I can't seem to find the answer to and wondered if someone here could help.

When you breed your rabbit can she remain with her bonded friend / relative even after birth and during pregnancy?
If it's a no when should she be removed ?
and last of all If no can she go back to her bonded friend / relative after ?

Many Thanks in advance :D
Becky-Louise

Hi :wave:

I'm afraid this is a pro-rescue forum, as there are already over 40,000 rabbits in rescues all over the country, breeding just adds to it when people buy rabbits for children or whoever, and they realise they can't afford the vets bills and things and they end up needing another home.

You need to know a fair few generations back before actually breeding because of how prone to dentals and things they can be. I don't think you can keep them together because rabbits can get pregnant soon after giving birth.

Hi,

Welcome to the forum :)