• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

need help. Complaint about Rabbit care in garden center

Well i am a novice when it comes to this, i went to a garden centre today, and have cried about the conditions, but need to say something (im going back tomorrow with Rich, i think im much better in person, rather than email) But im going to send an email aswel. This is the email i have written (i haven't sent it yet. i need feedback first)

I visited your Garden Centre today 19/6/12. Which is why i feel compelled to write this. Everything was going ok, i saw the Chickens, Ducks, and Goats and was quite impressed with the standard of life they have. However when i went into the other 'building' and saw the Giant continental rabbit, another rabbit and guinea pigs, my heart dropped.

The Giant conti had a tiny bit of water left in his/her bowl, no hay, no 'real' space to move. The other Rabbit was in a hutch (no room to periscope, or run, again no hay)

I spoke to a young woman at the check out, and asked do the rabbits ever come out, she replied yes, but not when there is a chance of rain (i was confused by this because it was a glorious day, and no chance of rain). She told me that the Giant Conti belonged to the garden centre, and that the little Rabbit was boarding with you. I then asked about the lack of hay, and was told the Giant Conti is on a controlled diet and can not have hay, a totally absurd statement to make if you know or care about the health or the welfare of Rabbits.