• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Is my rabbit pregnant?

DottieLottie

New Kit
Sorry, im new to this but im writing about my rabbit, Dottie.

I bought with her 'sister', Lottie when they were 8 weeks old. I have heard that they are not always sexed properly at this age. About a week ago, Dottie started making a nest with straw, hay and her own fur but Lottie just pulled it out and that made Dottie upset and a tad fiesty. So we split them up and now Dottie has made a beautiful nest. But she hasn't had any babies? :/ I know that rabbits can have false pregnancies but it seems so real; she has even got big teats and everything.

Please help!

the best way to find out would be to take her to the vets. I had a foster cat recently who I was convinced was pregnant, her stomach was swollen, she lost fur around her nipples and they got bigger, she was incredibly affectionate and very vocal, even the vets were convinced! but 1 ultra sound scan later revealed it was just a phantom :lol: I believe they can actually lactate :shock:

A vet will be able to palpate the abdomen and/or do an ultrasound scan to decide if she is or isnt pregnant :wave:

I agree a visit to the vets would be a good idea. Even if you just see the nurse to sex them for you (which is often free) they can tell you if they're both girls or if one is a boy. :wave: