• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Rabbit breeds.

Hi all,

I am an utter newbie to the forums, so please be gentle with me ;)

I have two rabbits, one male (Flake) and one female (Biscuit) I only realised that they were opposite sex when Biscuit had her 1st litter of kits. Sadly they all died. As she had the kits in the middle of the night, I couldn't get her a hutch of her own until the next morning, so inevitably she had another litter, (They were of course seperated the morning after her first litter but it was a little too late)

Anyway, she had 9 kits this time, we did lose one, but the other 8 are now 4 days old (her first litter were all dead by this point) And they are all fat with milk, lovely and warm and very wriggly! She is being a wonderful mother this time round, she even built her nest 48 hours before birthing (not 2 hours before like last time)

I am trying not to interfere too much with the kits, I only check on them to make sure they haven't fallen from the nest during feeding, and to make sure that they are all warm and being fed properly.

as I dont have the space for 10 rabbits I am going to have to sell the majority of them on when they are old enough, so I thought I should double check their breed. (The place we got them from didn't know)

After research I am torn between 2 breed, Rex and English Spotted. And I was hoping that you guy could help please.

here are the pictures:

Biscuit:

IMG_0392.jpg

IMG_0394.jpg

Flake:

IMG_0393.jpg

IMG_0390.jpg

Their babies:

IMG_0387.jpg

IMG_0388.jpg

IMG_0389.jpg

IMG_0391.jpg

Hope you can all help.

Haley. :love:

They are definitely not Rex. They look to be a cross breed. I hope the parents were not related ie Brother and Sister.