• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Newby,!walked in to almost a whole rabbit in fur!

Hello everyone!

I'm very new to the rabbit world and have googled and read many books but it's my first chat forum!

I have 2 bunnies, 1 lop eared girl & 1 dwarf boy. I have walked in today to so many clumps of rabbit fur it's unbelievable! It was quite scary!!

They are mainly Pip (boy) who is white and black, this fur does feel softer than Audrey (girl) who's brown and white...does that contribute?

They have also prev been mainly outdoors but recently spend approx 70% of the time indoors..or are they just major shedding? X

Hi and Welcome :wave:

They may have had a bit of a sqabble over somthing, how long have they been bonded for?

Okay, are they piles of fur as in from moulting, or small tufts, as in like been pulled out?

If tufts, it may be they have been fighting. Are they both neutered/spayed?

Re the 70% inside, 30% outside - you need to be very careful. Changes in temperature can make a rabbit very sick if it is constantly changing. If you are to continue having them indoors, they need to stay indoors, until early spring.

It may be that with the warmth of the house, compared to the outdoors, has forced them into a moult and they are shedding fur.

Check them both over for injuries and proceed from there i'd say.

Also, how old are they? If not neutered/spayed and old enough, you may now have a pregnant female :/

:wave:

Last edited:
Sounds like they've had a fall out :( If they're not neutered/speyed then this is something you should consider asap :wave:

eta: What Graham said! :lol:

Last edited:
Hello everyone!

I'm very new to the rabbit world and have googled and read many books but it's my first chat forum!