• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

<------ newbie here, Hello!

eddieace

New Kit
hello all,

the names Eddie, we have just taken in a rabbit hence my arrival here. I have used forums of various topics to gain valuable knowledge usually getting better quality information by forums like these.

so

as i've said we have taken in a rabbit, i have zero experience with rabbits so will be making heavy reading on the subject over the next few days (mostly probably from here). the rabbit we have has been described to us as a lop eared rabbit, male, 6 months old.

here he is, quite a large thing tbh,and been told he is still growing?

pic is poor as i didn't want to disturb him too much with his recent move, i'll take another when he's running around.

a few quick questions so i dont get it totally wrong but i'll probably read about it in the coming hours i see alot of rabbit runs for sale, can they not just run freely in the garden? or is there another purpose for the run (protection)

i've got two bags of "bedding" one bag of barley straw and a bag of wood shavings i've used the straw in the bed area for him and the wood shavings in the lower hutch area (he has a 2 level hutch).

also was looking at these bed wigwam thingies, any good? or no good?

anyways will be taking him to the vet soon for a checkup and a chat.

as for his name, my 5 year old wants to call him slinky, opinions?

so anything anyone thinks i should know now please speak up and i'll get stuck in but for now i'll start some reading up here.

thanks

eddie and "slinky"

Last edited:
Hello and welcome! :wave:

This forum taught me all I know :D Slinky is handsome!

First tips to keep you going then!