• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Can people who have bred or looked after pregnant rabbits please help me?

Alibunmum

Wise Old Thumper
The rescue I foster for have asked me if I would be prepared to take on a pregnant doe. :shock: She is in overcrowded and unsuitable accommodation. I have no experience of this and would fully appreciate anyone's help and advice. it's not yet definite but questions so far,
t
What is the ideal set up for her? I have a 6x2x2 traditional hutch outside, a 7x2x2 chicken coop style one with a massive 3x2x2 sleeping area upstairs. If she is indoors I have a cage I can use as a base and she can have the run of the kitchen.

Should I build her an open topped box for her to use for kindling? I wouldn't want a roof because I couldn't keep half an eye on the babies.

Should she have unlimited pellets? Or just a larger ration than I would normally give.

Sorry for the questions, I am very excited but very daunted at the same time.

At this time of year I would keep her indoors - it gets very cold at night for newborn bunnies. I would suggest unlimited pellets and lots of hay. Keep her quiet, away from dogs, cats, noisy kids etc. And don't worry about her. :wave:

At this time of year I would keep her indoors - it gets very cold at night for newborn bunnies. I would suggest unlimited pellets and lots of hay. Keep her quiet, away from dogs, cats, noisy kids etc. And don't worry about her. :wave:

Thank you. Sounds good, I appreciate your response.

i would keep indoors to plus an open top box is a good idea as a feeding baby latched on if mummy hops off could easily come out of nest and get cold
good luck and your doing a greta job :thumb:

Sorry Ali, I have no experience in this department.