• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Help in knowing what breed my bunnies are????

Tay

New Kit
12weeks.jpg

6months.jpg

IMG_0332.jpg

I am new to having bunnies, and learning so much every day. When I initially went to buy/adopt them I went to get what I thought was Netherland Dwarfs, but when I got there I fell in love with these 2, but have never known what breed they are. They grey one has changed so much from when they were 12 weeks and he was dark grey, now he is very pale grey.

Thanks for that.

I was told when I got them at 8 weeks old they wouldnt grow much bigger, but one of them has probably trebled in size and the fawn one doubled lol

I am really enjoying them, spend hours watching them playing out in their run, one chasing the other for ages, with everything in the way getting knocked out of the way.

In my experience, dwarf lops are loving, cuddly and very friendly. My Poppet luuurves nose rubs and pamper-time (grooming/brushing). I think you'll love having them around. :D

Hello :wave:

They look like my Poppet, so my guess would be Dwarf (French) Lops. :)

Dwarf lops and French lops aren't the same breed, Dwarfs are the second smallest type of lop and Frenchies are the biggest (classed as giant)

I'd say there were pet bred Dwarf Lops, probably heavier and less compact than ones bred for show, the thing about dwarf lops is they don't actually carry the dwarf gene, so they tend to grow much bigger than people imagine :)

Thanks for that, its all quite interesting to know.