• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Winter Housing

steph1981

New Kit
I have 4 bunnies that have been living outdoors since May, originally they were out during the day and in at night (apart from in the cold weather when they were in all the time) so it's my first year having them out in the winter. Two live in a hutch with a run attached and Two live in a great long run in between two garages with a hutch inside. Both hutches are currently covered in Green Tarp to stop rain getting in.

I have plans for further weather proofing and have today built a platform for both Hutches so they are completely off the floor but my main concerns are
a) the lack of light due the the dark tarp on one of the hutches it would prove very difficult to remove as it is a self built hutch the other i could replace with clear but wondered what the consensus was regaring access to light during the winter and i suspect most wild bunnies would be tucked up in a dark burrow for the duration of the winter.
b) the lack of outdoor time due to the poor weather. Today we have had not stop drizzle and although the temperatures are not too harsh at the moment im worried that as the temparature drops their outdoor time will become more and more limited as i dont want them out getting wet. Again any thougths would be good maybe im just been over concerned as its the first time they will be out.

Any advice would bemuch appreciated x

For my outdoor four, I stuff tons of straw [with hay on top] to keep them warm if they want to be, but mostly they sit out in the run!:shock:

I only tarp the run over at night, in the day its 'open' - Could you roll it back during the day to give maximum light??

I found this thread very helpful, also this one: