• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

How do you make up your hutch?

megansmummy

Mama Doe
Im looking for advice on bedding and general hutch care and im a complete rabbit newbie! ...what do you put where? I have been reading not to bother with shavings?

Thanks!

edit to add, i just realised their is ahousing section! sorry!! :oops:

Last edited:
When i got them as babies last November -
Bedroom - 1ft deep straw
Day room - Newspaper on the floor with wood shavings on top and a hay box (cat litter tray) and toys in run.

Now since neutering and litter training -
Lino floor
Bedroom - (at the moment they have straw) but i ordered them a soft dog bed from ebay to replace that.
Day room - Door mat to sit on, Hay rack (ikea bag holder) and cat litter tray.

Depends on the rabbits! I have three sets of bunnies, all have to be treated differently :roll:

One lot have newspaper only on floor of hutch and have litter trays/beds upstairs. More than one blade of hays on the newspapr together and it becomes a place to wee :roll: Downstairs they just have litter trays/beds in their run

One lot have newspaper on floor of hutch and have just a big lump of hay (not in a box) in their sleeping area. No poos or wees are done upstairs, but they do go up there and eat sometimes. Downstairs they just have litter trays/beds in their run

The last pair have newspaper on the floor with litter trays up and down, but they also have a bed of hay upstairs by the mesh so they can sit on it when they sit up there - in winter only. In summer if you put hay up there they shove it all downstairs and wee on it (but not if it stays upstairs)

Bless them :roll: :lol: