• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Adopting more buns - what makes a good grouping?

Buzzybunny

Young Bun
Hi all

I'm a newbie to the forum and mentioned in my intro that I'm hoping to adopt a bun or two.

I currently have two neutered males (brothers) who have a very good relationship. They are completely free range in a secure walled garden (approx 6x5 metres) with access to the house (kitchen/diner 5x3 metres) via a cat flap. We shut them inside at night and when we're home we have the lounge and hall open too.

Although I'm happy with just my lads, I keep seeing buns in need of homes and thinking I could give them a good home. My question is: what combination of buns would work best? I'm guessing a new girl/girls would be better. Would it be ok to have one girl with two boys or should I make it an even four? I'd prefer to just get one more at the mo but could afford to take two if it makes for a happier group. This is all presuming they bond ok first!

Any thoughts?

I'd say 2 girls too. That's my plan, as I'm in a similar position, but with 3 single boys.

Trios don't work as well as a pair or a quad do so I would choose 2 if I were you :)

First of all, please dont feel the need to rehome rabbits you can't afford.

I find groups no more work than singles, but obviously you need to consider a few points.

1. Space ( doesn't sound a problem) although personally even in a walled garden I wouldn't be happy leaving my buns unsupervised all day whilst Im out. Anything can get in, cats/foxes. I do think some of the rescues on here will have a problem with that.

2. neuters and vaccs, more bunnies = more cost