• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Help with rabbit behaviour

slacky

New Kit
Hey guys, this is my first time here

I brought a rabbit on thursday from a local pet shop, Took her home in a box which she let us stroke her without no hassle. But since we've put her in her hutch she doesn't let us go near her, if we go to stroke her she runs off.

I let her out this morning to have a little run in the garden and every time i went near her or made movements she ran off. She also kept doing this thing with her legs, It was kind of like her jumping but some thing irritating her (if that makes sense?)

This is the first time owning a rabbit so any help will be appreciated

Thanks

not sure about the jumping thing but she probably just needs to settle down, everything will be really new for her, sit near her and let her come and sniff you out when she's ready

Awww sounds like she needs to settle in and get used to you. As the other poster has said try to sit near her and spend as much time as you can letting her smell you and get used to you. Maybe try hand feeding her her food rather than putting it in a bowl. She can then see that you can be trusted and are not going to hurt her.

Thanks for the reply,

What kind of treats would be good to get her ?

I'm also having difficulty getting her back into her hut when i let her out, in the near future I'm going to purchase a run for her

I have to watch my two's tummies with treats, but I hand feed them things like dandelion leaves and sometimes their pellets if I have lots of time. They also love fenugreek crunchies (they sell them in pet shops) but I don't give them too many.