• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Advice needed - groups/babies etc!!!

angel242c

Young Bun
Hi :wave:

I'm hoping some of you experienced people out there can give me some advice on how to proceed with my litter of cross wildies that I rescued. I am new to rabbit keeping and wasn't intending to have a litter, but couldn't leave them couped up in a 4ft hutch with no access to a run, looked after by someone who was petrified of the mum and was feeding them on chicken food and no hay :censored:

I have mum and 4 babies who are now 5 weeks old. We have decided that we want to keep all of them as a group, as we can't bear to part with any of them!! I am pretty sure that I have 3 boys and a girl (the pictures that were posted on here have been very helpful) and will get them all neutered as soon as they are old enough, but I do have a few questions.

1) Will I be able to keep 2 females and 3 males together if they are all neutered?

2) What age will I need to separate the boys and how long for?

3) What is the best way to re-introduce them and when?

4) Should I keep them next to each other so that they can still see each other? (I have a 6x4 shed with a triple tier hutch in attached to a 10x5 'aviary' permanently but this could be split to provide two separate enclosures)

I'm sorry for all the questions, but I don't know anyone that keeps rabbits and I really want to make sure that I am doing the right thing for them.

Thank you :D

Don't be sorry for asking question, you're asking good ones.