• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Molly is breathing really fast. U/D Back from vets

BeatrixPotter

Mama Doe
I'm very worried about Molly. She is breathing really fast. She seems quite happy otherwise and she is eating, drinking, pooping ok. She is very relaxed and is lying completely flopped but her breathing is so fast.:cry:

I have just phoned the vets but they are full tomorrow and can't see her till Friday morning. Do you think I should ring back in the morning and demand an emergency appointment? I think I probably will.

What could be the matter? So worried about my beautiful, best girl.

Last edited:
I'm no expert but I don't think that sounds anything to worry about. Peter often breathes very fast, and sometimes quite slowly. I think so long as she's eating, drinking etc I think she'll be fine. just keep an eye on her.

I've noticed this with my buns too, more so in Lewis, I think it's just the heat as he's been sittin with his frozen water bottle a lot, ice pods should be on their way! :wave:

She is a house rabbit and I don't think she is hot. It's not all the time, comes and goes. Will be ringing the vets first thing tomorrow.

She is a house rabbit and I don't think she is hot. It's not all the time, comes and goes. Will be ringing the vets first thing tomorrow.

This is the same as mine, when I mentioned it to the vet (a week so so ago), she looked at me like I was an idiot :roll: and responded with, 'Rabbits do breathe fast'. I'd rushed straight to the vets as he was shakin his head/ear, refusing fenugreek's and breathing VERY rapidly. The vet was unable to tell me if Lewis even had mites - anyway looks like it's cleared up :)

Hope your bunneh is ok! :)