• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

You think its hard convincing owners....

VikkiVet

Mama Doe
I genuinely greatly admire the work some people do educating potential and current owners on the health and welfare of rabbits. I do my bit as a vet student, and more so when I am a vet, but then I realise how incredibly hard the job is when things like this happen...

I've been having an email-based argument with a friend and fellow vet student who occasionally "backyard breeds" her bunnies and sells the litters on the college's intranet.

Aside from the fact that she does no home checks, gives no advice on housing, vaccination, neutering etc she also regularly weans the kits at 4-6 weeks and they are gone by 6 weeks max!

I've tried to reasonably debate with her that they shouldn't be rehomed, especially alone, until 8 weeks but she insists that she has done it before, they've all been fine (how can she know? does she check?) and that I am patronising her for even suggesting otherwise as I haven't actually bred any rabbits (thank God!).

So on her behalf and no doubt any other similarly minded current or future vets, I apologise for their lack of research, information, common sense and diligence. No doubt their own experience and opinion will translate to clients as future advice, thus worstening the situation for the rabbits themselves and local rescue centres who will deal with the fallout.

(thanks, just had to get that off my chest!!)

Surely there is a heap of veterinary info in the text books you can show her? Would help prove her wrong.

I've bred rabbits and have no qualms about setting people 'straight'. If I can be of any help, let me know :D It sounds like fun!