• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

pets at home sellling deformed rabbits

Schumi

New Kit
Im new to all this but think others should know my story.
I have always been against getting animals from pet shops and have resisted my children going on at me to get another rabbit. But in feb I saw this little rabbit in pets at home up for adoption. They said he was too big to sell. So I adopted him. about 2 weeks later i noticed his teeth were not right. I took him to the vets and they cliped his teeth and said it would need doing every 6 to 8 weeks. well 2 weeks later they needed doing again. this was the patten for a few weeks. It was stressing him and I didnt like having to get it done. In the end the vet said it would be better for him to have them taken out.After much thought I agreed. He spent the night in hospital and now he is home all his food is cut up for him.Im glad I adopted him because alot of people who just get a rabbit and leave in their hutch would have had him put to sleep.its cost me nearly £200 so far. I have conplained and might get my money back but that doesnt bother me its the fact they get away with selling these animals.

A good example for picking one from a rescue quite a few vaxinate and some neuter, as rehoming takes a while too quite often you get to learn some history of the animal too so you know what you are taking on

where as in a pet shop you dont know wht you are getting other than the rejects from a breeder, its a very common story though

well done you on saving this bun, and also taking the time to help him :love:

buns are not cheap, and quite a few people think they are :( not on here of course we all know they are not :lol: