• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Favourite Brand Rabbit Mix??

Alfaasil

New Kit
I'm still new to the rabbit world, and not sure of all the food stuffs out there, I know with my parrots it was trial and error to really get a brand that was good quality and that they all liked as there are so many! And I take it the rabbit brands are just as broad. At the minute Choccy is on Russell Rabbit fruity mix, hay and bits of fruit and veg whenever its going round in our house.
So the question is... "What is your favourite food brand?"
Also, do you feed pellets along with mix? If so, what is a good quality pellet?
Thank you :)

most of us here use Pellets, Im swapping mine onto Science Selective from P@H own brand. Russel rabbit is probably the best mix you can get though :wave:

If you do decide to change the dried food please remember to do it gradually-over about 3 weeks- so that it doesn't upset the bunny's tummy.

put two bowls. put a little of the new pellets in one bowl beside the normal bowl. gradually put less of the usual mix and more of the new pellets over the 3 weeks until its all new pellets.Don't mix the two as you will be confusing the smells and flavours.

Some owners find that science select is best, some prefer Allen & Page pellets, others prefer Excel pellets.

If you feed a Rabbit a mix it's important that it contains a high percentage of fibre- also the reason many owners prefer to give pellets is that some rabbits will feed selective parts of the mix and leave other bits. However if your mix has equal amounts of fibre and nutrients in every piece(some do -some don't) and your rabbit eats it all, then he should be fine.