• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Hello I'm new to the bunny world can you help me??

Sarahlou527

Young Bun
Hello everybody...

I am new to all of this and looking for some advice. We are picking up our new French lop bunny named Dave at the beginning of July. I want him to have a lovely home and don't know where to start. I've been looking for a large six foot hutch in my area (kent) but am having little joy. I have seen that some people house their bunnies in converted playhouses but I have no clue on where to start with this and how to set it up? Do you set them up like normal hutches or having different flooring. Also Ventialtion and heating? I was thinking maybe the playhouse might be a better idea for the winter etc?! Really I have no clue where to start so any help advice or pictures you could show me to help get me started would be brilliant! Thank you everybody :)

Have a browse of the "Housing" section on here :) There's loads of good info already out there. And then you can ask specific questions of what you're not sure of! You can find the "Housing" section under "Rabbit Care and Welfare", and then under "Rabbit Care Discussion".

It is great that you are getting advice on the best housing prior to getting your bunny. Are you getting Dave a friend? Bunnies are better in pairs, they like company of their own type.

French Lops are big, so need space. I am not sure of outside houses as my bunnies are indoors, they have their own bedroom in my house :)

Someone will come along soon to help.

Welcome to the forum x

Thank you very much. Is it unfair to keep just one rabbit? He will get loads of attention everyday. I thought the cost of two could be to much and would rather give one rabbit a wonderful experience in life then two an average time !