• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Dental advice

tilly2484

Warren Scout
:wave:

I did have this is another post but didn't get any luck:(

So hopefully someone might have a bit of advice.

Poppy went for her VHD on Tuesday and the Vet has said in the next couple of months she will need dental as her back tooth has a bit of a point. I've never had a dental bun and wondered if I need to do anything differently?

They are house buns, have about 10 ss pellets each in the morning and unlimited hay. Treats include little veggies and sometimes carrot crunchies (they are addicted so I limit these!)

My Honey has small spurs and I have been managing this for 2 years without a dental - touchwood. I give her very few pellets, loads of hay. Some grass or readigrass in winter and wild plants from garden. Also a small amount of veg daily and a fenugreek crunchie.

Watch out for even the slightest change in her eating habits. sometimes it can be very difficult to know when a bunny needs a dental. Some are easy as they gradually eat less or eat slower.
My hazel kept the fact she needed a dental a closely guarded secret:roll: When I did get a clue she had a problem a spur had already caused damage to her tounge:( She sees the vet regularly, now that I am aware of the problem so that it can be sorted before the tooth causes her discomfort.

Does Poppy eat much hay?