• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Average age for a rabbit to live :S

samantha m

Warren Scout
Hiya
What is the average age a healthy rabbit could live for? Roo the bunny I adopted I was told she was old - around 6, but I have now been told today that she is about 14 :shock: could this be right?

The bunny off of Disappointing Rabbits - Cinnamon - is 14. It's quite possible I suppose.

This is a pic of her, I think she is a netherland dwarf, but im not to sure, im not good with breeds

DSCF0120.jpg

Most rabbits are neglected and so rarely live past 5. Most people don't neuter their rabbits, so most females get cancer.

I consider 6 to be the start of 'middle-age' for a rabbit. Anything 10+ is definately old :)

She doesn't look like a nethie in that picture, but pictures dont show the whole story, but at 14, she's a very mature lady if thats true!

I have had/ got a few 11 year olds. Some of them look pretty good for their age, no tell tale signs unless you really know them :)

It's an interesting topic. I have heard of rabbits living to a good old age in the days when vaccination, feeding hay and the correct veg etc were not generally known about, and when most rabbits were stuck in a tiny hutch at the bottom of the garden. I sometimes wonder if we over-pamper our buns nowadays...

I have had/ got a few 11 year olds. Some of them look pretty good for their age, no tell tale signs unless you really know them :)

Ye, we've had these too. Sweep reached 9 and looked like a young adult. Tubby was nearly 12 when he died and he did look like an old, old man (but had done since about 6 :lol:). Badger is currently 4 and looks like an old, old man. :lol: