• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New bunnies coming soon ... names?

Nemily

Warren Scout
Hi All

We are getting two mini lop bunnies on 26th March, from a breeder (the "WE" being my two daughters aged 13 and 10). Both bunnies female, one is a sooty fawn and the other is light orange.

What a minefield it has been selecting the breed, breeder, hutch (thank goodness for this site) and deciding on the run etc. The hutch is ordered, the run is going to be made by hubbie and we have still to purchase the hutch bedding, toys etc.

ANY ADVICE WELCOME!! We are complete newbies, but have so far done extensive research to sometimes complex, contradictory results! Our bunnies will live outside, we plan to have a section of garden free range for them and a run built which we can move around the garden.

Now please forgive me but could anyone answer a few queries?

[/LIST]Injections - divived on the net as to whether they are needed? I asked local vet today and she said she didnt think so?
Is one water bottle and food bowl sufficient for the two bunnies or one each?
Any advise on the best bedding to use? shredded paper useful?
Pet insurance? is it a good thing to have? bearing in mind that the stipulation of which is that the pets are vaccinated
and finally and here is the fun bit ...

Anyone like to throw some name suggestions in the pot .. my daughters are having problems finding something they like.

Thanks a lot for your help :wave:

First off, if you're getting bunnies from a breeder they will both need to be spayed, to eradicate the risk of ovarian/uterine cancer, help them bond better and reduce hormonal behaviour:)