• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

what does spinach do if u feed a rabbit too much

shadow05

Mama Doe
right yesterday i went out and bought some veg for scooter. i bought brocilli, brussel sprouts, some flat leafed parsley, corriander and i booght some spinach.

my problem is a bought a big bad of it and only just found out it can only be given occastional. so i wanted to know how much is too much and wat would happen if too much was given?

I'm no expert but I think this is it....
The reason it is best to only feed occasionally is that it is high in calcium. Short term, the bunny may have no obvious problems or have misty/milky colour urine. Long term or too much calcium causes kidney stones.

I dont know how often or how much you can feed, I tend to only give 2/3 baby spinach leaves every 2 weeks or so, but I like to play it safe as he had milky wee when I first got him and fed lots of broccoli every day ( eta - which I now know not to do :oops:)

I believe its another of the calcium high foods. B&G are currently having about 6 or 7 leaves per day with some herbs and some cauliflower and brocolli (a small floret of each, each)

:wave:

I'm no expert but I think this is it....
The reason it is best to only feed occasionally is that it is high in calcium. Short term, the bunny may have no obvious problems or have misty/milky colour urine. Long term or too much calcium causes kidney stones.

I dont know how often or how much you can feed, I tend to only give 2/3 baby spinach leaves every 2 weeks or so, but I like to play it safe as he had milky wee when I first got him and fed lots of broccoli every day ( eta - which I now know not to do :oops:)

See thats what thought, but isnt spinach high in iron???