• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Low weight

little-laura

Wise Old Thumper
hey guys

yuki is eating and has no sign of health issues but she needs to put on weight she doesnt seem to be eating much of her pellets, but I have been giving her veggies which she guzzles down

What pellets and veggies would be best for her to put on weight

Russel rabbit is good to fatten them up. But hay and veggies over time will bulk them up. I'm a vet nurse and always see overweight bunnies! Rabbits should be slim, so I'm sure your rabbit is perfect!

I'm not sure, but what is she on at the moment? I'd check with someone more expert, but it might be appropriate to give her junior pellets. If you put a post in 'diet' you might get someone with more knowledge coming along. :wave:

Russel rabbit is good to fatten them up. But hay and veggies over time will bulk them up. I'm a vet nurse and always see overweight bunnies! Rabbits should be slim, so I'm sure your rabbit is perfect!

Just a bit concerned as she is feeling quite light though is at the moment guzzling greens and carrots quite manically lol :roll:

I know I shouldnt be that worried as she is eating -___- shes just a bit picky about her pellets

Totally normal, must healthy bunnies will choose hay and veg over the pellets.
If you feel her ribs but can't see them then perfect weight.
:)

Totally normal, must healthy bunnies will choose hay and veg over the pellets.
If you feel her ribs but can't see them then perfect weight.
:)

I am sorry but I have to disagree with you Hellybelly. Most rabbits, in fact I have to say all rabbits in my experience, except those which are unwell and not eating at all, will choose pellets over hay, even those who absolutely love their hay.