• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New Owner: I need some tips, how do I train my Bunny?

tgf-47

Young Bun
Hi, I'm new to the bunny world.

My bunny is about 7 weeks of age.
Starting to get very comfortable around humans.

This all seems to change when I take him outside. Like he is trying to run away.. (he is on a leach)
How do I train him to act outside like he does in the house?

How do I train him to come when I call him (if possible).
I basically just need to know what is the best way to train bunnies.

Any help will be very much appreciated, Thanks.

I believe when you walk a bunny on a leash you just go where the bun wants to go, they're not like dogs, you can't train them. :lol:

Bunnies arent like dogs... you cant train them to come when you call :?
They like to do their own thing...

Could you get him a run? for the garden? Rather than have him on a lead?
that way he can have as much outdoor exercise he wants and needs without you following him around, then you could sit with him and 'bond' with him.

Do they just learn certain routines then?

I have seen bunnies that come to their owners when called. Is this a habbit or hope for food or something?

I've also learned that they can overtime learn the names of their food ie. carrots, lettuce..... and when hearing the name of one he likes most, he will react in a different way.

Is this bogus or fact?

Hi,
At 7 weeks he is still incredibly young, they shouldnt actually be taken away from their mothers until 8 weeks old.
So its no wonder he is overwhelmed! I would keep him inside where he is secure and happy until he is a few months old. Also is he vaccinated against myxi and VHD? If not you'll have to get him vaccinated before thinking about taking him outside.