• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Sadie on her own after losing Sammy..what to do?

littleboots

Mama Doe
We lost our beloved boy Sammy on Sunday and are heartbroken at the moment.. but Sadie is now on her own and its awful to see her looking sad!
My head tells me that I cant think about getting a new companion for her as the pain of losing Sammy is too great.. but my heart tells me that my girl needs company and I should put her needs first..

That's a very difficult position to be in. :( I've no experience of bonded or bereaved buns, but I hope someone who does will come along soon. xx

We lost our beloved boy Sammy on Sunday and are heartbroken at the moment.. but Sadie is now on her own and its awful to see her looking sad!
My head tells me that I cant think about getting a new companion for her as the pain of losing Sammy is too great.. but my heart tells me that my girl needs company and I should put her needs first..

It must be really hard. :cry:

I know if it was me I'd probably feel the same but would probably put the buns' needs first and adopt another bun' as soon as possible. I would have thought (though could be wrong!) bonding may be easier if you bond Sadie sooner rather than later. But you have to be comfortable making the decision too.

Perhaps give yourself a couple of days to get your head round things then think about what to do? xx

Am so sorry you've lost Sammy -there just aren't words are there really. Hugs for you xx

I know how upset you are by losing Sammy but I think I would probably be ruled by my heart and what would be best for Sadie. If you got her a companion it might also make Sammy's loss a bit easier for you to deal with, too, as you won't be so worried about her being lonely.