• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Help!!!!! Fox!!

yvette

Wise Old Thumper
Im a bit flustered.....a fox was up the copse over the road from my house yesterday!! Will she come back?? Does she know I have buns??? I cant free range them now.:(
What about the ferrets?? Will foxy be deterred by their smell??

You should never leave bunnies unsupervised when they are free ranging. Foxes can be about at any time of day. I don't think the ferrets will scare off a determined fox, either.

Oh dear, that would really worry me. :( I never let Spenser free-range as our garden isn't really suitable and I'm not good at catching him, but his run isn't as secure as I would like it to be.

Yes, if you saw one fox then there are probably more about and yes they'll come back. There noises are pretty sensitive so they may know you have rabbits, if not then I wouldn't rely on them never finding out, likewise ferrets maybe act as a deterant but they aren't a guarantee. A secure, fox proof run is the only on sure thing.

You should never leave bunnies unsupervised when they are free ranging. Foxes can be about at any time of day. I don't think the ferrets will scare off a determined fox, either.

I dont leave them.....but I dont want to be in the situation where there is a fox in my garden.