• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

keeping bunnies warm-tips please

pooks

Warren Scout
My bunnies are in a shed with a run attached. The shed is insulated with silver backed bubble wrap but the water bowl keeps freezing.

Can anyone give me tips for preventing the bowl from freezing? They've never drunk from a bottle so don't want to rely on that as an alternative.

Secondly, in the shed they have a plastic dog bed filled with hay (its really stuffed full!) but i'm worried they're gonna get too cold in this weather. I'm gonna get another plastic dog bed to fill with hay to put in the run.

Is there anything else i can do/give them to help keep them warm?

ps, the run floor is paving slabs but ive covered them with hay so bunny's feet are warmer!

Well, I'm not an expert but got my buns through last winter with ....

a knee deep in straw
b cardboard box filled with straw (they like two holes cut in it!)
c a bench off the ground to sit on.

this year I have added a small hutch with the door taken off to the shed and stuffed that full of hay too. The run also has shutters on the front and a corragated plastic roof. The back of the run is solid wood and it has a wooden floor too which is raised up off the ground. You could put a floating floor in the run?...

All the best for the winter! Roll on the summer when we're all getting frantic about keeping bunnies cool!! :roll:

Don't have the answer to the frozen water bowl, but Spenser and I must manage as he will not drink from a bottle. I change it frequently until I go to bed around midnight, then I get up at 6am to change it again. He doesn't drink that much, but all the same it is a concern. Spenser has fleece blankets as well as straw and hay in his hutch.