• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

elderly bonded males - new problem

tomrabbit

Young Bun
Hello, Newbie here :wave:
My 2 neutered males are brothers from the same litter, and have lived happily together with no segretation for 14 years. Now they are elderly gents, Tom has slowed down a lot, and spends much of his day snoozing. His brother Jerry however is showing no sign of ageing gracefully, still runs about like a march hare, and has started to hump Tom relentlessly. This behaviour began a few months ago while they were living out of doors, but now the weather has got colder, they are in their winter quarters with less room to run, and it is getting much worse. Is there anything I can do other than segregate them for the first time in their lives?

It would be so sad to separate them, but its likely its not going to ease. I would suspect maybe Tom slowing down has started this, and Tom may even have some sort of problem causing Jerry to act like this (ace names by the way).

How does Tom act when Jerry does it? What does he do?

If you separated them (as a last resort) could you have them living next to each other?

When Jerry humps, Tom either does nothing, or sometimes tries to get away, but sometimes he isn't able to get away because Jerry holds him. There isn't any aggression, as in biting or fighting, just dominance behaviour, and at other times they are just snuggled up together like they used to be.