• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

OMG. HELP. They are eating me out of hay and home!

GrahamL

Wise Old Thumper
Since Ginger arrived i've obviously been using more hay up, i obviously dont midn this and can easily afford for the additional required.

But this is crazy!

I started bonding them at 8am Saturday morning. It's now 11:30 on Tuesday and they've done 3/4 of a 1Kg bag of meadow hay :shock:

Is this ALOT for a pair of dwarf lops? (yes, Biscuit has recently been re-breed assessed, lol) Biscuit is 2.1Kg and Ginger is 1.2Kg now.

Just curious. It's not a problem, i'm just learning :)

Holly is always eating hay, Pearl was the same.. i used to get thro 1 1/2 bags of the 1.8kg pure pastures hay in a week :0

its so ace i can now buy bales of hay, no worries about running out ever again lol

My buns,inc the 2 nethies, surprised me.When I started to buy a certain hay from a certain place, the amount of hay consumed went up considerably!!!Whereas before I was getting freebies from mates farm (a bale every 6 weeks,still do), I found it wasnt nommed half as much.
Theyre bedded on freebie hay and nom the other classier stuff!!!

I did think Biscuit was rather large mini-lop...

Re. the hay, LUCKY you. :evil: I'm still at the stage of rejoicing and getting the amera out if Spenser has hay dangling from his mouth. :roll:

Nah, that's not a lot.

Probably in line with what Wish and Autumn eat.

Mine get through roughly 25kg every 5 days, for 17 rabbits. So that's about 1.2kg per rabbit every 5 days. They don't eat all that (bedding and excess litter tray hay goes in the bin), but they do eat a large amount of it.

Holly is always eating hay, Pearl was the same.. i used to get thro 1 1/2 bags of the 1.8kg pure pastures hay in a week :0