• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Ill rabbits and work...

melaniejb

Mama Doe
What do you do when your rabbits (or any pet for that matter) are ill and you have to go to work? Occasionally my boyfriend has the opportunity to work from home but I'm a teacher so obviously it's out of the question.

We've had a shocking weekend as Albert has had GI stasis and he's recovering today but needed hand feeding and syringe feeding his meds and critical care. I've got non contact time tomorrow afternoon so I'll be able to come home to give him his meds but I'm in a bit of turmoil about what will happen if he needs me on Tuesday...

What do you all do? :?

In my old job it was always an issue, if I needed to go to the vets etc. Care wise i'd either throw a sicky or book holiday if I was in your situation. They didn't understand the importance of caring for sick animals nor my deep love for them-they're my children :) in my new job they are very understanding on short notice hols, finishing early etc for my buns-so far. However all you can do is fake an illness or get your bun stable with treatment last thing before you leave and first thing when you return. I hope he makes a good recovery x x

I have booked last minute holiday previously - so did my ex when I had a bun with a blockage for a week. With a non-bonded/stressy bun, I have taken them to work

Now I would take time off I think. Or maybe come home at intervals through the day if that was sufficient

I am a teacher too!

When Peter has his dentals he usually takes a week of nursing (inside) before he goes outside. I get up extra early before work to make sure I can medicate and syringe feed him. Then I leave lots of different food around the room to try and tempt him.