• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

"Rabbit IBS"

Candiflare

Mama Doe
Do you believe this actually exists? Ralph has got terrible diarrhea again today (he had it last about a month ago) and he seems to be alternating each month between a bout of stasis and a bout of diarrhea. The vet calls it his "rabbit IBS," but I'm not so sure.

It's never serious enough for it to not be cleared up within a couple of days, but I'm thinking perhaps he needs some anti-biotics or something?

I would take him to the vet today (like I have done every other time he's had it) but I know she'll just give me more fibreplex and biolapis to give him which I've got anyway and am giving him now...

No advice really as I am no expert but I am sorry to hear Ralph suffers so much with his tummy.

Would a probiotic help at all?

Do you think that means there is an underlying problem?

I've never heard of IBS but I'm no expert. I would have thought they should be able to offer tests or something and not just put it down to IBS. I'm sure someone more knowledgable will come along shortly.

one of the vets i saw once compared Alvins Stasis to the human IBS. he said just like humans some bunnies have tummy issues and no-one knows why.

im not sure what i beleive tbh. some on RU say thats theres an underlying cause we just havent found yet but loads of vets have just said hes prone so the ibs thing makes sense to me :?