• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

advice please.

jordie

New Kit
hi,i am picking up a rabbit which i bought for my older sister tomorrow as it is her birthday,she seen him last week and adored him.he is 16 weeks old. i am a carpenter to trade so i was going to build a hutch for him,i have been researching what materials i will need online.i was going to make the frame from finished timber and finish it with mesh.the only place i have found any is b&q,i would just like some advice as wether this type of mesh is suitable,and any other bits and bobs i will need to get the wee fella started.thanks in advance.

Hello!

If you use the search facility at the top of the page and look at housing you will get some excellent ideas for your homemade hutch.

Briefly the most important things to consider are size, weatherproofing and securtiy - at least 6' long by 2' (preferably 3') deep and 3' high, these are internal measurments, raised off the floor with legs - it is best also to have an attatched run of at least 6' in length. Any wood that bunny can get to and will therefore chew needs to be untreated and safe to chew ie not poisonous to rabbits or the hutch can be lined with ply so any edges are unreachable. The strongest welded mesh should be used and hole size needs to be considered to avoid preditor attack. Bolts rather than twist bars should be used. A good roof overhang with roofing felt. A secluded bedroom area. Nightime shutters are an excellent idea especially for the winter.

Remember bunny is likely to live 10 to 12 years so it is most economic in the long run to start with accommodation that will last.