• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Help with complaint letter about Rabbit Care.... Update!

Toadie

Alpha Buck
I am currently studying a home course on Animal Care through a well known Home Study College, and have just received my course notes on Rabbits, which has left me with a strong feeling of concern, so I am three quarters of the way composing an email to my tutor but have run out of words! :roll: Also I would like to run it passed R.U for any helpful advice :wave:

Dear Sarah
I am very much enjoying working through my course and have decided that once I complete Animal Care I shall move on and enroll in Stonebridge's course in Animal Health. The one unit I was particularly looking forward to was unit five on Rabbits, being a slave to my much spoilt house-rabbit Frodo and a member of the Rabbit Welfare Association. However after reading through Stonebridge's course notes on Rabbits, I confess to be feeling left with disappointment and concern.
My three biggest ones being - Diet, hay must make make up 90% of this, it is vital for healthy gut movement and helps to keep teeth down.
Housing, the minimum size recommended is 6ftx2ftx2ft, this is without daily access to a run, metal cages are not recommended as they are too cold in winter, neither is wire flooring, widely seen in America,it is widely used by 'breeders'.
And no where in your notes on health do you mention Viral Haemorrhage Disease or V.H.D as it is more commonly called. This is a swift killer - it can kill within a day. Rabbits must be vaccinated for this, followed by booster jabs every twelve months. They should also be vaccinated against Myximatosis, followed by twice yearly boosters.
Please accept my concerns as constructive criticisim, in no way to I wish to sound patronising