• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Newbie here!

Michelle_stt

Alpha Buck
Hi. I just stumbled across this site and it looked like just the place I needed!

We moved into our new house in Feb and have been thinking about getting a bunny. I had a Netherland dwarf as a girl who lived indoors and was an amazing pet!

Iv researched them and how much care they need since around march.

I bought a double tier hutch for £10. It needed treating and staining and locks etc putting it on. My husband got it looking brand spanking new! We got everything we would need. Toys, bowls food bedding etc.

I decided to get a bunny who needed a home rather than a baby. So I trawled sites looking for the right one.

A lady was rehoming 2 together. We were told they were both female and were the best of friends.

48hours after them being here they were constantly fighting. I got a guide up online on how to sex them and discovered they were both males. We decided to keep the smaller male lionhead and rehome the large lop bunny. (he went 3doors away).

Iv 2 children and of course we had arguments over who's bunny he was.

My daughter had a look online and found a gorgeous female lionhead. We had to wait 3 weeks for her and she arrived 2 days ago. My god she is gorgeous!!! She is a white/pearly grey colour with blue eyes and so fluffy!!!!!

They are both young and at the moment have them in the same hutch.

A friend has 2 spare hutches and is bringing them over tonight.

Sorry for the ramble, here are my questions.

How soon can they breed as I don't quite think I'm ready for baby bunnies just yet!

Will they get lonely in seperate hutches as they cuddle up and lie next to each other and seem happy.

What else can I use instead of sawdust? Bella is getting it tangled in her lovely soft fur!