• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

People with Wildie bunnies, advice needed

Hugo's There

Wise Old Thumper
I have no experience with wild bunnies at all so need as much info as I can get about housing ,temperament etc Basically what their needs are to be kept happily.

Also can you bond a reasonably tame baby wildie to a domestic rabbit?

And would you consider it fair for a wildie to be kept with mobility problems and possibly future front leg amputation :?

In general wildies are very nervous, very active rabbits. The bigger the better as far as housing is concerned...an aviary set-up with a hutch (even a small hutch will do) filled with hay is fine.

You can bond wildies to domestics, but I've found that once a wildie hits maturity it will display dominant behaviour, so the partner will need to be carefully chosen.

I think wildies would probably have less difficulty getting around with 3 legs than a domestic, because they are naturally small and athletic...so I don't think it would be a big problem.

Thanks Amy and Jane. I now have a little more information. The disabled leg hasn't been injured itself it is the result of spinal trauma, so amputation doesn't seem likely to be an option. So not sure if this makes the situation better or worse :?

I just want to make sure we are able to offer the bunny what she needs to make her happy and comfortable, althought at the moment she only seems to have one other option :(

I would think if it was a spinal injury her movement would be limited anyway, so space would be less of an issue.
As Amy says, they are more nervy and active- and Benji was definately the boss of his 2 girls. He was bonded to 2 dwarf lops, and they got on fine.