• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Zoo Vet At Large - last night's episode

p_prod_uk

Mama Doe
Hi guys, did anyone watch Zoo Vet At Large last night with Matt Brash?

There was a couple who had a lovely female bun and they had got a stunning grey french lop to be her husbun. They tried putting them together but they fought badly and so ended up keeping in separate rooms.

They took both buns to the vet (Matt Brash) and his first suggestion was to remove the female's front teeth. He said if she couldn't bite him and hurt him, everything would probably be fine.

Now, I'm no expert and am genuinely interested in everyone's views, but surely that's animal cruelty?!? :shock:

Some buns just won't be bonded to any bun, never mind a certain bun which the owners have chosen, rather than the bun itself.

Also, I would have thought that even if/when the female went to lunge at the male bun, the charging and lunging would be enough to set him off at her, not just the actual bite from her?

It also showed you the owners picking their male bun up and plonking him in HER run/territory!! Surely this should have been the first thing the vet should have asked about as this is bound to be more likely to not work if it's her territory.

The owners ended up opting to put the female on tablets to improve her 'security', therefore making her less likely to start a fight.

The buns did end up being bonded, but this was after the owners decided to keep the buns for several weeks in runs separated by mesh and then putting the female in the MALES territory.

Slightly worrying that they could have had the female's teeth removed :)evil:) for no reason.

Thoughts?

I watched it. It's an episode I've actually seen a few times and every time I smack my palm to my forehead in desperation! :lol: