• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Cat brought home a wildie

sally1974

Wise Old Thumper
My cat has just come home with a 4-5 week old (estimate) baby. It seems unhurt but I want to keep an eye on it, whats best to do? I have a run it can stay in or I can keep it in the house, whats best to do as with food etc?

that happened to my gran last year, except it was an older wildie, she was in a right panic, but her cat thought it was its baby :shock: :lol:

hope it will be ok

I'd be tempted to put it back outside. D'ya know where about you cat caught it. If so pop him back there. I really wouldn't put him in anything your buns use - fleas, worms, coccidiosis etc. Good luck!

Hiya,
Im not experienced in this in anyway, Im sure one of the rescues will be on here soon to advise better.
In the meantime Id think hes probably in shock, so Id keep him somewhere quite dark and very quiet. Keep him outside unless its raining or particularly cold, but make sure its in a sheltered area. Food wise Id put some hay and grass in for him to munch on, and of course offer him water.
Hope he makes it through xxxxxxxxxxx

Thank you everyone, I have put it in my spare run just for a hour or so to make sure it is ok, then I will release it back into the wild. Is it silly that I feel tearful that I am releasing it back into an unknown fate:cry: I know I probably sound silly I just wish I could look after it forever and make sure it never came to any harm.

Well I released it and it went straight into my neighbours garden, I knocked on his door for him to put it over his fence into the field and he was able to pick bun up without it hopping off. I have got baby back and it is fine but what do I do now? It is in a spare hutch at the moment.