• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

My female rabbit has become very aggressive!!!!

curlywurly

New Kit
Hi, I have a female minilop she is about 7 months old, over the last 3 day she has become very agressive! As soon as I let her out of her cage she starts making a buzzing noise, and tries bite me :( she is also pooing while do this??!! I have booked her in to be neutered tomorrow. The vet said it could take upto 7-9 weeks before her hormones calm down after she is neutered, is this true?? I have never owned a rabbit before so I am new to all this. I really don't know what else I can do to stop her? Please help!!

The neutering is sure to help with this.

I hope it goes well, make sure you are prepared for her aftercare - she will need to stay indoors for at least 24 hours after the op and you will need to make sure she is eating, drinking and pooing well after, get in some tempting bits to get her eating - rocket, fresh herbs like basil, parsley and corriander are popular, you can feed them wet to keep the fluids up. No hay or straw for bedding as it can irriatate the wound, feed hay from a rack for now. She will also need to be prevented from jumping up until her wound is healed so if she has a ramp you'll need to think about that. I see you say Cage so maybe she's a housebun? If so, how big is her cage and how much freerange time does she get as this could be affecting her also.

Good luck for tomorrow and remember we are here if you need any advise :wave:

I agree with Dustyrabbit. Spaying will calm her down a lot.